Dr. Ronald Fernando Garcia Ruiz

 

Office: 26 1-006

CERN, Geneva 1211

Geneva, Switzerland 

​Tel +41 75 411 6602

rgarciar@mit.edu

Graduate Students @ MIT

Alex Brinson (supervisor)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

brinson@mit.edu

Laboratory for Nuclear Science

Boston, US

Dr. Ronald Fernando Garcia Ruiz is an Assistant Professor at the Department of Physics at MIT. His research actives are focussed on the development of laser spectroscopy techniques to investigate the properties of subatomic particles using atoms and molecules made up of short-lived radioactive nuclei. His experimental work provides unique information about the fundamental forces of nature, the properties of nuclear matter at the limits of existence, and the search for new physics beyond the Standard Model of particle physics.

Ronald obtained his PhD in 2015 at KU Leuven, Belgium. His thesis was awarded with the PhD Thesis Prize (2015-2017) from the Nuclear Physics Division of the European Physical Society. He was based at CERN during his PhD working with the COLLAPS and CRIS experiments at ISOLDE. After his PhD, he became a Research Associate at The University of Manchester (2016-2017). In 2018, he was awarded a CERN Research Fellowship to lead the local CRIS team. At CERN, he has led several experimental programmes motivated by modern developments in nuclear theory, atomic physics and quantum chemistry. He was awarded the IOP Nuclear Physics Group Early Career Prize 2018 for the development of laser spectroscopy techniques to study extreme regions of the nuclear landscape.

Adam Vernon (co-supervisor)
The University of Manchester

adam.vernon@cern.ch

CERN, Geneva 1211

Geneva, Switzerland 

Graduate Students @ CERN

Cory Binnersley (co-supervisor)

The University of Manchester

cory.binnersley@manchester.ac.uk‎

Room 4.18 Schuster Laboratory 

Manchester, UK.

Agi Koszorus (co-supervisor)

KU Leuven

agi.koszorus@kuleuven.be

CERN, Geneva 1211

Geneva, Switzerland 

Christopher Ricketts (co-supervisor)

The University of Manchester

christopher.ricketts@manchester.ac.uk‎

CERN, Geneva 1211

Geneva, Switzerland 

Fredrik Parnefjord Gustafsson (co-supervisor)

KU Leuven

fredrik.parnefjord.gustafsson@cern.ch

CERN, Geneva 1211

Geneva, Switzerland 

LASER SPECTROSCOPY AT RADIOACTIVE BEAM FACILITIES

CRIS Collaboration @ CERN

COLLAPS Collaboration @ CERN

Silviu-Marian Udrescu (supervisor)

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

sudrescu@mit.edu

Laboratory for Nuclear Science

Boston, US

© 2019