Ronald Fernando Garcia Ruiz

Office: 26-427

Department of Physics

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Avenue. Cambridge, MA

Phone: +1 (617) 253 8085

rgarciar@mit.edu

Ronald3.png

Administrative Assistant

Anna Maria Convertino
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

amc@mit.edu

Laboratory for Nuclear Science

Boston, US

Anna.jpg
DOWNLOAD FULL CV

Prof. Ronald Fernando Garcia Ruiz is an Assistant Professor at the Department of Physics at MIT. His research actives are focused on the development of laser spectroscopy techniques to investigate the properties of subatomic particles using atoms and molecules made up of short-lived radioactive nuclei. His experimental work provides unique information about the fundamental forces of nature, the properties of nuclear matter at the limits of existence, and the search for new physics beyond the Standard Model of particle physics.

Ronald grew up in a small town in the Colombian mountains. As a teenager he moved to Bogota, where he obtained a bachelor’s degree in physics in 2009 at Universidad Nacional de Colombia. After earning a Master’s degree in Physics in 2011 at Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, he moved to Belgium to start his PhD degree at KU Leuven. Ronald was based at CERN during most of his PhD working on laser spectroscopy techniques for the study of short-lived atomic nuclei. After his PhD, he became a Research Associate at The University of Manchester (2016-2017). In 2018, he was awarded a CERN Research Fellowship to lead the local CRIS team. At CERN, he has led several experimental programmes motivated by modern developments in nuclear science, atomic physics and quantum chemistry.

Fellowships & Awards

  • National Academic Award in Science, Alejandro Angel Escobar Prize, Colombia 2021

  • DOE Early Career Award 2020

  • 2020 FRIB visiting scholar award

  • 2020 Fundamental Physics and Innovation award - Convening award - Gordon & Betty Moore

  • 2019 MISTI Global Seed Fund award

  • 2018 – 2019 CERN Research Fellowship. CERN, Switzerland

  • 2018 IOP Nuclear Physics Group Early Career Prize. Institute of Physics (IOP), UK.

  • 2018 Best PhD Thesis prize (period 2015-2017.) Nuclear Physics Division of the European Physical Society (EPS).

  • 2011 – 2015 PhD scholarship. KU Leuven, Belgium.

  • 2009 – 2011 Graduate Studies Fellowship. National Congress of Sci. and Tech. CONACYT, Mexico.

  • 2008 – 2008 Summer student scholarship. ORNL, USA.

  • 2006 – 2009  Undergraduate fellowship -
    Department of Physics. Univ. Nacional de Colombia.

Graduate Students @ MIT

Haruka Kakioka

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

kakiokah@mit.edu

Department of Chemistry

Boston, US

haruka.jpeg

Alex Brinson
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

brinson@mit.edu

Laboratory for Nuclear Science

Boston, US

MeAtISOLDE2.jpg

Silviu-Marian Udrescu 

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

sudrescu@mit.edu

Laboratory for Nuclear Science

Boston, US

pic.jpg

Scott Moroch

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

smoroch@mit.edu

Laboratory for Nuclear Science

Boston, US

moroch_goldwater.jpeg

Fabian Pastrana Cruz

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

pastrana@mit.edu

Laboratory for Nuclear Science

Boston, US

fabian.jfif

Adam Vernon

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

vernona@mit.edu

Laboratory for Nuclear Science

Boston, US

Adam.png

Postdoctoral Researchers 

Shane Wilkins 

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

wilkinss@mit.edu

CERN, Geneva 1211

Geneva, Switzerland 

Shane.jpg

Jonas Karthein

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

karthein@mit.edu

Laboratory for Nuclear Science

Boston, US

Jonas.jpg

Ivana Belosevic

TRIUMF

ivanabe@phys.ethz.ch

ETH

Zurich, Switzerland 

Ivana.jpg

Technical Support

Ernest Ihloff
eihloff@mit.edu
Bates Research and Engineering BATES, MIT
Principal Research Engineer

Danielle Petterson
dsp759@mit.edu
Mechanical Design Engineer
BATES, MIT

Principal Research Engineer

Danielle.jpg

Christopher J Vidal
cvidal@mit.edu
Senior Mechanical Designer
BATES, MIT

Principal Research Engineer

Chris_Vidal.jpg
Ernie.JPG

Undergraduate Students

Juan Antonio Luera
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

jluera@mit.edu

Laboratory for Nuclear Science

Boston, US

antonio.jpeg

Athira Arayath 

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

athira@mit.edu

Laboratory for Nuclear Science

Boston, US

athira.jpg

Andoni Fernandez Chiu

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

andonifc@mit.edu

Laboratory for Nuclear Science

Boston, US

Andoni.jpg

Juntian Tu

University of California, Santa Barbara

 juntian@ucsb.edu 

Santa Barbara, US

RV.jpg

María Paula Montes Bejarano
Universidad Nacional de Colombia
mpmontesb@unal.edu.co
Bogotá, Colombia

paula.jfif

Nicolas K Tanaka

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

nitanaka@mit.edu

Laboratory for Nuclear Science

Boston, US

nicolas.png

Erick Padilla

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

padillae@mit.edu

Laboratory for Nuclear Science

Boston, US

EPadillaHeadshot.jpg

LASER SPECTROSCOPY AT RADIOACTIVE BEAM FACILITIES

CRIS Collaboration @ CERN

CRIScoll.JPG
COLLAPS_coll.jpg

COLLAPS Collaboration @ CERN

2015Beamline.jpg

Former Members

Graduates

Cory Binnersley (PhD co-supervisor)

The University of Manchester

cory.binnersley@manchester.ac.uk

Room 4.18 Schuster Laboratory 

Manchester, UK.

Agi Koszorus (PhD co-supervisor)

KU Leuven

agi.koszorus@kuleuven.be

CERN, Geneva 1211

Geneva, Switzerland 

Christopher Ricketts (PhD co-supervisor)

The University of Manchester

christopher.ricketts@manchester.ac.uk

CERN, Geneva 1211

Geneva, Switzerland 

Undergraduates

Kunal Gupta  
ph1170826@iitd.ac.in

Indian Institute of Technology

Delhi, India

Parashar Mohapatra
pm2399@uw.edu
University of Washington
Seattle WA, US

Aydan Pirani
aydanpirani@gmail.com

Evergreen Valley High School

San Jose, CA, US

Fredrik Parnefjord Gustafsson ( PhD co-supervisor)

KU Leuven

fredrik.parnefjord.gustafsson@cern.ch

CERN, Geneva 1211

Geneva, Switzerland 

Jeong Min Kong Jeong.Kong@mail.utoronto.ca
University of Toronto
Toronto, Canada